Aim for Excellence

In 2016, MHA introduced a new award, the Aim for Excellence Award, intended to recognize Missouri hospitals’ innovation and outcomes related to the Triple Aim approach.

The Aim for Excellence Award is an annual, prestigious award recognizing Missouri hospitals’ innovation and outcomes. The award recognizes achievement, disseminates successful models, motivates innovation, promotes publication and supports application to nationally based grants and awards.

The goal of every hospital is to maximize patient-centered, efficient quality of care, while reducing financial costs and penalties. The “Triple Aim” approach is intended to improve the individual experience of care, improve the health of populations and reduce per capita costs of care for populations.

Recognizing that hospitals have different resources, the award is divided into three categories. This year, 13 applications were submitted for judging. No applications from critical access and rural hospitals met the point threshold established to receive the award. Judges included external Missouri funding, academic and health-related partners.

2017 Winners
Small and Large Metropolitan Hospitals — Capital Region Medical Center
Care Collaboratives or Health Care System — Northeast Regional Medical Center

2017 Honorable Mention
Small and Large Metropolitan Hospitals — Saint Luke's North Hospital
Care Collaboratives or Health Care System — CoxHealth

2018 Award Information

Categories (maximum of one application per category)

  • Critical access and rural hospitals
  • Small and large metropolitan statistical area hospitals
  • Care collaboratives or health care systems


  • Release applications – February
  • Applications due – May
  • Notify awardees – August
  • Compile and produce compendium – September-October
  • Announce and recognize awardees – November during MHA’s Annual Convention & Trade Show
  • Press release and compendium release – November following convention


  • project-based applications designating a team or organization
  • limit of one application per hospital, although a hospital also may be part of the larger comprehensive care model award
  • intervention must have been implemented for at least one year and have evidence of results
  • hospital-based applications must address at least two of the three Triple Aim principles; awards for the comprehensive care model or health system must address all three principles


Each eligible application will be judged and scored by a team of three external Missouri partners, including funders, academics, health-related centers and health-related organizations.

The top application in each category must receive a minimum average total score of 75/100 to receive the award. If no applications in a particular category receive at least 75 points, no awards will be given in that category.

Applicants and CEOs from winning hospitals will receive:

  • complimentary registration for MHA’s 95th Annual Convention & Trade Show
  • complimentary tickets to the installation and recognition banquet at convention
  • recognition in a news release to local and statewide media
  • inclusion in compendium

Applicants and CEOs from honorable mention hospitals will receive:
  • complimentary tickets to the installation and recognition banquet at convention
  • inclusion in compendium