MHA Awards

Each year, the Missouri Hospital Association presents health care organizations and leaders with prestigious awards, including the Aim for Excellence Award, Visionary Leadership Award, Trustee of the Year Award and Distinguished Service Award. The awards are presented at MHA's Annual Convention & Trade Show.

  • 2019 Award Winners
  • Aim for Excellence
  • Visionary Leadership
  • Trustee of the Year
  • Distinguished Service

MHA Aim for Excellence Award

Mosaic Medical Center – Albany
Clinical Excellence – Critical Access and Rural Hospitals

Saint Francis Medical Center, Cape Girardeau
Clinical Excellence – Small and Large Metropolitan Hospitals

Mercy Health
Clinical Excellence – Care Collaborative or Health System

MHA Distinguished Service Award

Christine M. Candio, FACHE
Chief Executive Officer, St. Luke's Health Corporation

MHA Visionary Leadership Award

Jodi Fincher, R.N.
Chief Executive Officer, St. Joseph Medical Center.
Kansas City, Mo.

MHA Trustee of the Year Award

Marvin Lyman
Truman Medical Centers
Kansas City, Mo.

Winthrop "Win" Reed III
Mercy Hospital South
St. Louis

MHA Health Policy Leadership

Sen. Bill White


Nurse Leadership

Presented by the Missouri Organization of Nurse Leaders.

Jason Purcell, DNP, R.N. NEA-BC
Excellence in Leadership
Director of Professional Practice, Saint Luke's Hospital of Kansas City

Kimberly Runquist, BSN, CCRN
Rising Nurse Leader
Director of ICU, Hannibal Regional Healthcare System

Lindsay Jessee, BSN, R.N., CCRN
DAISY Nurse Leader
Core Charge Nurse for Pediatric ICU, Children's Mercy Hospital in Kansas City, Mo.


Volunteer Services Award for Excellence

Presented by the Midwest Association for Healthcare Volunteer Resource Professionals.

"Senior Health Center Program"
Citizens Memorial Hospital


Auxiliaries of the Year

Presented by the Missouri Association of Hospital Auxiliaries.

Ste Genevieve County Memorial Hospital Auxiliary/Partners
Sainte Genevieve
Category: 1-30 licensed beds

Western Missouri Medical Center Auxiliary
Category: 31-100 licensed beds

Mercy Hospital Washington Auxiliary
Category: 101-300 licensed beds

CoxHealth Auxiliary
Category: More than 300 licensed beds


Auxilian of the Year

Presented by the Missouri Association of Hospital Auxiliaries.

Lon Goede
SSM Health St. Clare Hospital Auxiliary


Aim for Excellence Award

Aim for Excellence Award

In 2016, MHA introduced the Aim for Excellence Award to recognize Missouri hospitals’ innovation and outcomes related to the Triple Aim approach.

The Aim for Excellence Award is an annual, prestigious award recognizing Missouri hospitals’ innovation and outcomes. The award recognizes achievement, disseminates successful models, motivates innovation, promotes publication, and supports application to nationally-based grants and awards.

The goal of every hospital is to maximize patient-centered, efficient quality of care, while reducing financial costs and penalties. The “Triple Aim” approach is intended to improve the individual experience of care, improve the health of populations and reduce per capita costs of care for populations.

Learn more
about the Aim for Excellence Award.

Visionary Leadership Award

Visionary Leadership Award 

Missouri’s hospitals and health systems increasingly have embraced various strategies to improve health, clinical and safety outcomes of the patients and communities they serve. The Visionary Leadership Award recognizes innovative service and program initiatives led by the nominee. This award does not focus on building or service line expansion.

Recognizing outstanding achievements in clinical and health outcomes, this award will is presented at MHA’s annual convention to a hospital or health system chief executive whose organization has demonstrated sustained improvements in clinical and health outcomes.

Learn more about the Visionary Leadership Award.

Trustee of the Year Award


The Trustee of the Year Award recognizes and honors up to two individual trustees from a Missouri hospital who currently serve on a Missouri hospital or health system governing board. The selection criteria is based on leadership skills, grassroots advocacy, community involvement, meeting participation and personal development. The awards are presented each year at MHA’s annual convention.

Learn more about the Trustee of the Year Award.

Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award was established in 1975 to honor individuals who have made significant contributions to their hospitals or health systems, their communities, the field of health care, and the Missouri Hospital Association. The award is the association's highest honor and is presented each year at MHA's annual convention.